Paint Blog 2008-A: Chapter One

Well, it’s a new year, so how about a new Paint Blog series?  To be honest, I’ve semi-lost track of how many we have in rotation now, though I believe it’s just Paint Blogs II and IV, along with Telephone Girl, who need to be finished up.   The problem with most of these is that the era of discovery is over, and we’re now in the era of refinement.  Well, refinement is kind of dull, because all you’re doing is detailing what’s already been placed before you.   (This, you may have noticed, is my main failing in creativity:  the big initial idea is great, getting it into presentable shape is less great.  In fact, it’s work, and I tend to put things like work off until they’re unavoidable.)

Anyway, where were we?  Oh yeah, a new Paint Blog.  Well, since this is 2008 and I really don’t want to hunt through old posts so I can find out what number to give this one, we’ll call it 2008-A.  This one started because I had some paint on my palette and I wanted to do something with it that didn’t involve details and tiny brushes.

So we started here, with raw sienna patterned on there.

Next, we used alizarin crimson, burnt umber, white and a bit of yellow (barely noticeable) and got a nice pattern.

Then, we spread this to the edges of the canvas.  

Next, you’ll see we pretty much got rid of anything interesting as we spread the pigment evenly over the canvas.  The paint in the previous image, interesting though it looked, was simply too thickly applied to work with easily.  So we smoothed it all out and made it duller. 

That’s okay, though, because usually the preliminary interesting stuff is the interesting stuff that doesn’t stay interesting.  Not all the time, mind you, but largely.  So:

Finally, we ended up with this.

Here’s a shot showing a more severe angle, to eliminate as much of the glare as possible.

Where will it end up?  I have no idea.  I suppose the two of us will find out together as this year begins to shape itself.  More later, as it happens, and thanks for visiting!

