NaNoWriMo as of the 7th.

Current word count, around 8,100 (as of 2AM)

Yeah, this 2AM stuff seriously puts a crimp in the next work day, but what can you do?  I’ve never, ever been a morning person (unless you count 2AM) and have always done my best work in the evening and later.

Of course, I’m not including NNWM07 among my “best” work, not by a long shot.  I’m pretty sure it’s total garbage, but I’m going to keep slogging at it.  Because the world needs more garbage after all, doesn’t it?

The nice thing about yesterday’s work is that I got nearly 3,000 words in.  If I can continue that pace, I shouldn’t have any trouble catching up to where I should be.  Instead of 5,000 behind, I’m around 3,500.

The not so nice thing about yesterday’s work is that, as noted, it’s got to be some of the worst stuff I’ve ever written.  If you read things posted here regularly, that statement ought to give you pause.  I mean, 8,100 words and I’ve had about three story-impacting things happen.  Heaven forbid one of the characters notice that his shoelace is untied; I can easily see myself hurling that into a thousand words, which makes me tremble in fear over what I’ve become

Oh well, it’s only NaNo after all.  It’s not like this is going to see the light of any day down the road.  Unless I get so famous that anything by me is considered publishable–which also makes me tremble in fear over what the rest of you will have become.  What kind of a future world is that?

Best of luck to all the participants, and thanks for visiting.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo as of the 7th.

  1. I’m in the same boat “catch up-wise”. But I’ve got the time to get it done, so it behooves me to do it now, while I can. You never know when some monstrous job assignment will come your way (or some other distraction). As far as “garbage” – that it is, matey. Except for 2 paragraphs which actually kind of startled me. It had genuine nostalgia and was something that had the faint tinge of competency about it. Either that or I’ve been at this computer too long.

Comments are closed.