Long Walk Off A Short Pier

I’m going to try and upgrade this thing to the latest version of WordPress.  Others have done this, and seen success.  Others might have done this with…less success.  One suspects they wander the web like lost souls, only able to post when time-shift events occur.  Or maybe they just started over.

At any rate, this blog may be unavailable while I do this.  And when I’m done, and this blog disappears off the face of the Earth, it’s because something went wrong.  If that’s the case, it was nice knowing you!

UPDATE:  This is more complicated than they let on.  At least to my tiny little mind.  We’ll see…

UPDATED UPDATE:  Put on hold until I can find out what I’m doing, or rather what I need to do.  (Not sure the first bit is even answerable.)   The thing is, I don’t own my own server and I’m not hosted by WordPress, so I need to find out if what I want to do is possible without massive amounts of work.  I like Yahoo well enough, but there doesn’t seem to be a way to do mass file updates.  Which means rename files one by one, upload files a handful at a time, then hope it all works.  Otherwise, rename all the old files back, one at a time…

3 thoughts on “Long Walk Off A Short Pier

  1. I wish you luck. And Gods-speed. That’s what you need a back up blog for. Does your old blog still have your posts on it? Cos you could copy everything here to that blog so you won’t lose anything if it goes wrong.

  2. Good luck to you. WordPress has a backup feature under “manage” that will even send a backup to your email address as one of its’ options.

Comments are closed.