Nan06:26

Current word count: 43,733

I wonder when the standard unit of measurement for illness became the dog.  No matter, I am certainly as sick as one, and have been since yesterday afternoon.  Hence the rather low word-count.

Truth to tell, though, I’ve been avoiding the story all day.  Not because I don’t like it–no, I think it’s a really great story.  I just don’t like what I’m doing to it to make 50,000 words out of it.

To go into more detail (hey, I heard that!), I’ve been doing mostly re-writing since last week, since I’m stuck on a pivotal scene.  But what I’ve been doing is looking at word choice and, for example, changing “we” to either “she and I” (200 percent word count increase!) or “the two of us” (300 percent word count increase!).  I haven’t done this throughout–I think the flow still reads okay–but it bothers me that it isn’t efficient, and that I’m looking for ways to gussy up the prose just to gain words.

Part of the problem is the type of story I’m telling.  Last year, I chose that old fantasy stand-by, “the quest.”  This is a pretty easy story to inflate, because you can have your questors meet odd people along the way or run into strange situations, and you can use this to deepen the atmosphere and breathe some life into your world.  You can also advance the story at the same time.

This year, I’m not sure what kind of story this is–it’s almost a “coming of age” story, though not quite.  But its skeletal structure just wasn’t adapted well to have tons and tons of extraneous flesh draped on it.   It’s clearly unhappy with all the extra baggage. 

As a result, I’m really unhappy with what I’ve done to the poor thing.  As Henry said in a comment, you can always go back and edit later, but I have a feeling if I touch this story in December, it’s going to snarl and bite me.

This…well, it will have to be dealt with.  I’m grateful, as always, to NaNoWriMo for unblocking what remains blocked the other eleven months of the year.  Next year, I’ll have to be like Saga and have a good plan.

Back to the keyboard…sigh… 

UPDATE WHICH HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH NANOWRIMO SO IT CAN BE SKIPPED:  I’m so glad the makers of “Sugar, A Little Snow Fairy” didn’t take the opportunity, in episode 20, to make Greta the villain.  I really, really like the character and would hate to see her made an object of hatred.  In fact, as the arc progresses past episode 20, it’s very clear the makers want Greta to do the right thing.  In her own way, of course.  Her challenge in episode 21 was clearly part of that.  And in episode 22…oh, well.

I’d love to think of her as a hero.

She’d wave me off, with that awful laugh and her violin trills.  But her heart wouldn’t allow it.

5 thoughts on “Nan06:26

  1. I’m sorry you’re sick WAFFO-man, it’s probably from kissing strange girls you’ve found on the internets.

    Looking back over my storiy there’s lots of bone thin parts then other areas that are as fat as lambs weened on Dutch pudding. And just about as healthy. Yeah, I think the more you do this the more you feel the ache of word-stuffing.
    HOWEVER you’re doing fab on the word count!

    Sugar plum sparkle floof fairy freaks me out. It’s too much cute for my metabolism.
    Makes me want to savage fuzzy baby kittens.

  2. I had a dream (during my ‘midday nap’) about you.
    You lived in a big house, had a lacky that could read minds, were being stalked by a woman on a red motorbike and helped me when my car broke down and someone stole my son’s christmas present.
    All in all you were stellar and a gentleman… even when I made lusty lusty overtures toward you.
    Also the hardwood floors in my house were immaculate.

  3. In my little fantasy story, the nobility never use contractions. Never. Not even using possessive.

    One of them was a key person, delivering a whole slew of exposition. Later, she had an entire chapter devoted to her view point. Which meant, again, no contractions.

    I even made a joke out of it.

    Don’t worry about it.

Comments are closed.