Nan06:7

Current Word Count: 14,341.

Click.

That’s the main thing i wanted to say.  Click.

I’ve been throwing scenes and characters and dialogue at this project for seven days now.  And for the most part, it’s felt like making a salad.  “Let’s throw some of this in there!”  “What the hell is it?”  “I don’t know, but it makes it bigger!”

Today, for the first time, the elements came together and said, click.  

The characters I’d tossed in there, and the characters who appeared who weren’t exactly “in there”…suddenly, today, I knew who they were and how they fit together.  Relationships and everything.  And it made all their appearances, which I’d thought just random jottings to increase word count, gel together.

It fts now.

Damn, the process of doing creative work never ceases to amaze me.  Especially when I’m right at the center of it. 

I still marvel at it, and when it’s going good, I still wonder who’s gonna come knockin’ and say, “Hey, that work?  Mine.”

For now, it’s mine, though.

8 thoughts on “Nan06:7

  1. Glad to hear it. I’m just I decided to use family members to flesh out the characters and the plot was always at the corners of my subconscious. I’m just swamped now, though.

  2. *** Round of applause to BC&Co ***

    Well done! I’m following the updates.

    I’m not doing the Nano thing, but right now I’m in the middle of my own “creative whirlwind” as I stitch together fine strands of fiction and real history for my second English Civil War novel.

    >> “The characters I’d tossed in there, and the characters who appeared who weren’t exactly “in there”…suddenly, today, I knew who they were and how they fit together. Relationships and everything.”

  3. [continued:] Amazing isn’t it. My choice of characters is usually limited, as I’m restricted to the people who were historically around my central character at the time, yet I love the way those semi-fictional critters can animate overnight and virtually write the scenes themselves with only a gentle rein from me and the synopsis. It makes me feel more like a film director than a novelist: they’re not just sitting there on the paper, they’re running around in my head needing some direction.

    Yes, the creative process is indeed a jaw-dropping wonder.

Comments are closed.