The Tyranny of Miscellany

There have been a number of things I’ve thought about posting here. But, of course, you know the problem between me and thought (we haven’t gotten along, it’s a long story, I hear there’s a series in the works).

The problem is that my thoughts on various subjects refuse to coalesce into coherence. Coherence is generally my goal (depending on how drunk I am, natch). I snatch the words out of the air and nail them into place, but like dead flies, they remain pretty unappetizing (you’ll have to trust me on this) and won’t write themselves into appropriately dispensable paragraphs. In the end, I’ve got a couple of documents full of dead flies and I tell myself, I can’t post a whole bunch of dead flies.

I’ve ordered Misaki Chronicles from the Anime Corner Store, so when that arrives, I may have more to say about breasts (Misaki Chronicles is Divergence Eve part two).

I’ve come up with a possible explanation for those breasts, by the way. Shorthand notoriety. Imagine that the women in Divergence Eve have normal breasts, and we can further imagine this conversation between two anime fans. We’ll call them Dave and Ed, though in fact their names are Roger and Phil.

Dave: I was watching Divergence Eve last night. It’s a pretty good show.
Ed: The title sounds familiar. Tell me something about it.
Dave: People use battle robots to fight alien monsters.
Ed (sarcastically): Wow, that really narrows it down.

With the version of Divergence Eve that we all know and love, the conversation goes like this:

Dave: I was watching Divergence Eve last night. It’s a pretty good show..
Ed: The title sounds familiar. Tell me something about it.
Dave: Biggest breasts ever.
Ed: I know exactly the show you’re talking about.

Great as the show is, it still feels like the sort of thing that no one would ever see you watching—more like something they would catch you watching. Any defense of the show you present will be seen as an excuse. Like, “I only buy Playboy for the articles.”

Oh, by the way, I think a Misaki action figure would be pretty cool. I just don’t know how she would be able to stand up….

One thought on “The Tyranny of Miscellany

Comments are closed.