PaintBlog II: Junework II

If you read the previous entry, right below this one, you might have seen a vague whirl of something near the top of the photo area, clinging to one of the support beams (in the work). I mentioned yesterday that we’d get to him soon, and that soon is now.

Also as mentioned, I don’t have any overview shots of the previous stage. I do, however, have a shot that shows this guy’s tentative origin. It’s right here:

No Anything

That’s him in the lower-middle-left, right below where the ladder joins the support beam. I can’t recall why he was added, though I suspect it was done to hide some spillover of raw umber onto the surrounding sky; I’m sure I had some brilliant scheme in mind. I tend to, you know.

Well, in one huge rush of work, he went from what you can kinda sorta see above (if you look really hard) to this:

No Anything

You can also see the tentacle and the floating slabs referenced in the previous chapter. I’m not sure if the tentacle is part of the guy, or he’s part of something larger below, or if they’re two separate creatures. There are other possibilities, of course. Viewer’s choice. Here’s a picture showing the overall view of the work thus far. You’ll note that the lower part of the canvas is priot to the state we left it in last chapter.

No Anything

Much as I liked the guy above, he seemed incomplete. How about another structure, yellow and white this time?

No Anything

Now this is starting to look good, I think. It looks almost fungal. Like this guy’s clambered up these supports and got himself comfortable, and is sprouting a fruiting body. More of that could only be better, right?

No Anything

And even more, including some dark structures inside, to give the idea of anatomy.

No Anything

He ended up with a few more white filaments reaching toward the ladder, but this is the last of his closeups. This is pretty much what he looks like now. (Except for the glare on the paint, of course.)

Speaking of the ladder, it got some highlights:

No Anything

 

Now, we come to the overview shots. These were taken at various times during the work on both the floating slabs and Mr. Fungus.

No AnythingNo Anything

No AnythingNo Anything

Now that I look at these, they all seem to be the same damn photo. Oh well, I guess I was trying different exposures or something. Mr. Fungus, in the last photo, has had some more personal growth, so at least that’s a difference. That’s how the work currently stands as well.

(Okay, I went back into PSP and looked at the photos. In the second one, the ground area in the lower right has been darkened up some. Some highlighting was added in the same area on the organic thing in picture three. And as noted, Mr. Fungus had his hair done in the fourth. So they’re all different, just not much different.)

What was really surprising was how well it all looked. Here’s the worst photo of them all, showing the two canvases together on the wall (behind a lamp) as they’re meant to be seen. Only in a better photo. This one really needs an apology but I’m tired of issuing those.

No Anything

Actually, the lamp works pretty well in that photo, doesn’t it? I’m going to try to get a better picture…someday.

I like the look of these, though they are a little bit Time-Life-ish. Time-Life would do these paintings of environments with dinosaurs or sealife, and then in the corner they’d have the painting as a black and white outline, with numbers to identify all the beasts therein. That’s what this reminds me of.

It said something else, though. It clearly said, I’m not finished. And I knew the direction in which I needed to go.

No AnythingNo Anything

That’s right. PaintBlog II has gone from being a diptych to a triptych. Cool.

More when it happens.

4 thoughts on “PaintBlog II: Junework II

  1. >>> “It looks almost fungal. Like this guy’s clambered up these supports and got himself comfortable, and is sprouting a fruiting body.”

    Ooooooh. Reading that sent a peculiar, tepid type of feeling up my spine. Awaiting Part III …

Comments are closed.