NaNoWriMo – 14

Current word count: 30,315

Pretty good day, considering the rest that went on during it. Although I am over half-way in word count, I’m just now reaching the half-way point in the novel. I guess that’s good—I’m not sure how long a typical novel is, that is, something that can be put between covers and sold at a shop, then go into the remainder bin, then get hurled into the recycling basket, then become a collector’s item on eBay.

It’s fifty-five pages, single spaced, no breaks between paragraphs. It’s also pretty lousy I bet. But it might be done, completed, and that would make up for a great bushel-basket of lousiness, as far as I’m concerned.

It’s actually kind of fun writing this, though I’m having to put more thought and planning into what goes on. It was kind of easier in the first part, since I could just write anything and worry later about tying it all together. That kind of luxury seems to be…well, not exactly gone, but definitely on the back burner, somewhat less in evidence.

Still have not gone back and revised. I kind of shudder to think what sort of tangled, gangrous narrative I must have sprouted. Rivisng it is going to be…icky. On the other hand, it may be fun to take a machete to it and turn it into a sculpture garden.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo – 14

  1. The 3,000 word pace seems to be working out well for me. As I mentioned in my blog, I think the free time that will suddenly lurch out of the absence of NaNoWriMo will be (at least for me) filled with more valuable pursuits than in the past. The energy and “thought muscles” built up during this exercise should provide for some interesting December endeavors.

Comments are closed.