NaNoWriMo – 13

Current Word Count: 27,282

It’s going pretty well, all things considered. I’m starting to get a clearer idea of where the characters are going, and what’s going to happen when they get there (and before they get there, too). A couple of big, vague scenes have started to fall into the scheme of things. (Still haven’t written them yet, but I know how to write them and how to tie them in now.) It’s fun to write it, though I imagine it’s going to be awful to read it (I haven’t looked at any previous work since day three or so). I’m thinking if I can keep my word count approximately twice the date, that’ll be good and I’ll get through this.

And that’s good, because this week, I run into one big obstacle.

Call Week.

Starting Monday, for seven days, I am on call 24 hours a day. Now, my last call week was actually okay, very few calls and only one in the wee hours.

That’s not the point. The point is, you’re sitting there, looking at your cell phone, waiting for it to go off. When it doesn’t, you don’t gain that time back. You can’t go to a movie or visit someone out of town, or any of that. Gotta hang around. It might go off at any moment, and it doesn’t care if that moment is when the meaning of “Rosebud” is finally revealed. It doesn’t care.

And I can see myself, sitting at the keyboard, trying to wring an idea out of something (“Okay, he specifically asked for a hot dog WITH relish, what does that mean”), all the time the cell phone is sitting there in my brain. Heh heh heh. Don’t forget about me, eh? Heh heh heh.

So, work (on the novel) may be a bit difficult this week. As always, we’ll see.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo – 13

  1. It wasn’t work that got in my way, it was first getting sick, then getting a new Shih Tzu (see my blog for details). But I ‘ve finally set my novel up for a clear and speedy path (having ironed out the plot holes). I managed 3000 words today and that seems a reasonable daily goal. Onward!

Comments are closed.