NaNoWriMo – 2

Total word count as of today, 1696.

Not building up those vacation days, am I? Not to mention the fact that, in the kindest possible terms, what I’ve huacked up is basically utter crap.

I would, though, like to take a moment to thank everyone (you know who you are) who has given me encouragement in this endeavor. You folks are real writers, and it’s really very nice of you to, in essence, cheer on the kid who’s trying to walk without crutches after spending all the spare time in the arboretum counting butterflies.

Enthusiasm can count for a lot in any sphere, and maybe I can break this thing, maybe. And I appreciate you all planting that idea.

The internet, on occasion, can be a wonderful thing.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – 2

  1. Way to go. You’re already a winner in my book. But remember, this is not about writing what you may consider to be “good” literature. It’s about the transformation we experience when we are given a deadline where only word count matters. When that happens, we not only surprise ourselves with unexpected small bursts of art, but our lives can be enhanced on many different levels. If you haven’t, read the entire FAQ on the NaNoWriMo homepage. Remember, write “anything” now – revise at your leisure. Good job!

  2. First drafts are never good literature.

    At least, that’s what I’ve been telling myself as I’m working on my novel. Some bits sing, y’know. But most of it sort of gargles noisily.

    Today’s going to be rough. I’m not liking the scene I’m on, but I need it to keep moving. I’ve got three more majors to introduce before I can get to the begging maelstrom. Which needs to be reached at this point…

Comments are closed.