Update and Ephemera

My regular readers (Hi, Mom!) will note the addition to my link list over on the right, “Killing in the Name of…” You’ll also note I wussed out and added “(Fiction)” to the title, as I didn’t want to give the wrong impression. There’s been rather too much killing in the name of [insert word here] in the real world for me to be comfortable with that, but that’s just me. (I will probably change that to reflect the title of the author’s principle blog, when I get a chance to visit the nearly half-dozen blogs listed under her name.)

Anyway, the entries at “Killing” are fictional extracts from what seems to be a larger framework, a story about demons or vampires or some rather nastily efficient killers. I’m not sure if she’s writing these as they come to her, or if there’s a greater plan at work, but the writing so far is excellent. It’s very vivid, evocative and descriptive and moves quickly. While the language contains nothing objectionable, it’s definitely not for the squeamish. While I’d love to read the finished work, this isn’t a genre I tend to seek out myself. Still, it’s good work so far.

I found this site the way I’ve found most of the blogs I enjoy reading, by clicking the “Next Blog” up at the top of the page. It’s always fun to see what other people have to say, usually. Blogs I tend to not bother with are:

  1. those not written in English. I’m not prejudiced, but as you can see my command of English is bad enough. I have no facility at all with foreign languages. This, by the way, includes blogs where the language is ostensibly English, but the sentences tend to be “Wld u b mine? OMG, 4ever 2 th max!” and the like. My decoder ring ran out of battery power years ago and they’re impossible to get nowadays.
  2. Blogs which have removed the “Next Blog” button. This is flat-out irritating. Why would someone do that? Am I supposed to be so enchanted by what I’m about to find that I will never visit another site, ever? Don’t do this.
  3. Blogs which play music. Is so newbie. I tend to have things plugged into my headphone jack anyway, but really, you know, I might already be listening to music and this interferes in a non-good way.
  4. Blogs which don’t allow comments. I like leaving comments on sites I find interesting or well-done; it seems to me that comments are part of the overall blog experience. But that’s just me.

Actually, I can understand not wanting to bother with comments. In the last couple of days, I’ve gotten eight [sorry–ELEVEN], all in a row, and all spam. This is pretty disenheartening, except when it’s not. A number of these “comments” came about on a post I’d done detailing my deteriorating mental state, and they were all cancer-related. Oh great, another thing to brood upon! Thanks in advance!

If this continues, I may have to implement that “Word Validation” feature I’ve seen here and there. I’m not crazy about this, as it adds a layer of difficulty for anyone who wants to say anything (any real people, I mean). I tend to find it an irritant myself, since I generally just want to say things like, “Very well written” or “That’s interesting” or something else not utterly vital, but still communicative.

We’ll have to see how that works.

In the meantime, I think I’ve finished the painting that has been consuming a great deal of my…well, whatever it is I’ve got left to consume. I want to let it gel for a day or so, but I’ll be sure to post when I’m certain about this.

PS: You know what’s funny? I’ve been using the Blogger for Word plug-in, and you’d think they’d update the dictionary so “blog” wouldn’t be flagged as a misspelled word. You’d be wrong, though.

3 thoughts on “Update and Ephemera

  1. Hello,

    I was searching blogs and came across yours. I really enjoyed reading it. It is one of the best blogs I have come across. If you have a minute please vist mine at timeshare resales it covers timeshare resales related stuff!

    Raymond

Comments are closed.