Extract

So, been working on a painting. I haven’t shared the progress because it’s the sort of thing that doesn’t translate to bits and pieces (though I have photographed every stage).

And I’ve been thinking that it’s going really well. Very well indeed.

Now I don’t know. I don’t know if it’s any good or not. I look at the excerpt above and I wonder if shouldn’t just take a break or something. Actually, I’m pretty sure I should.

Maybe the painting is actually good. I don’t know if I can judge. In fact, I think I’ve been looking at it as good for too long, and I’m getting a backlash.

It seems to be an issue with creative work. The work drives the work, and the judgement gets in the way, and the work resents this. The work is the work. The work is the reason for working. It’s not to feel good about oneself, or one’s choices, or one’s abilities.

The work is the work.

