PaintBlog II B – August 9

Some work on Part B of Paint Blog II. First of all, I wanted to continue the idea of the upright columns. So I thought it would be good to put one in the distance, making it blue as if it were covered by atmophere. Here’s the preparation for that, next to the result with the masking tape removed.

Click to open in a new window.

Click to open in a new window.

That one worked pretty well, so I thought I would add another even further in the distance to increase the depth of the world we have here. Again with the masking tape, then the result, with both columns slightly obscured by clouds Also done to increase the three-dimensionality. This reminds me of a guy named Richard Powers, who painted a lot of science fiction book covers.

Click to open in a new window.

Click to open in a new window.

Finally (so far), I wanted to add another pole closer to our POV, to parallel the one in the other canvas. So we start with the masking tape. This time, instead of using blue and white, we used raw umber (aka black) since this one will be closer and thus, more detailed.

Click to open in a new window.

Click to open in a new window.

That’s how it stands as of now. The tape is still on because I have to add some more colors and details after it dries. I’m pleased that this canvas is starting to get going again. (Now if I could jump start sound recording, and make a million dollars, I’d be happy.)

