The Space Between Works

Today, I’ve got some pictures of the sides of artwork. I know you’re thinking Wow, that sounds crazy, but hear me out on this.

I tend to hang PaintBlog One on the wall when I’m not actively working on it, and as I placed it there last night, I noted something. Here is kind of what I was seeing.

Between paintings I.  Click to open in a new window.

What’s strange is how the edge of one painting seems to continue in the painting next to it. Not in terms of color, of course, but in shape. The bright red curved bit in the lower right corner of PaintBlog One seems to be a continuation of the material in its neighbor, “Observation.”

It’s a lot more vague here, between “Observation” and “House of Thought.” It’s one of those squint and you might see it things. But the general direction seems to be straight across.

Between paintings II.  Click to open in a new window.

And here, between “House of Thought” and “The Book,” it’s even more vague. Most vaguest. Something like that. (The muddy, blurred photo doesn’t help.) But you can definitely see the upward line, from Book to House.

Between paintings III.  Click to open in a new window.

Strange. I wonder if the works are supposed to be part of some much more vast work. Sort of like Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos. Only not.

I wonder a lot of dumb things, you’ll note.

Here’s another picture of a cat.

You DARE to question my authority! YOU WILL BE PUNISHED!

(You have to imagine Michael Wisher reading the alt text. If you don’t know who Michael Wisher was, you should.)

One thought on “The Space Between Works

Comments are closed.